To emote or not to emote, that is the question.

I must confess I had to look this word up in the dictionary, although I was sure it had something to do with emotions.

So turns out this is a verb, which according to Merriam Webster means ‘to give expression to emotions, especially in acting.’

“To emote or not to emote, that is the question.”

We will always have emotions – positive and negative. Happiness, anger and sadness. How far should we express them, how restrained should we be? In democratic countries we talk about the freedom of expression, but in my opinion too much of a good thing can end up doing more harm than good.

I have mellowed over the years because I have learned that being too expressive – especially of negative emotions – can at best spread negative energy all over, stressing the people around me, and at worst damage relationships beyond repair.

So while I am not against emoting, I believe in doing so mindfully – in a way that ensures I am fully aware of my emotions, and thus experience them fully and yet still have the presence of mind to express them appropriately and constructively.

Emotions are not to be denied, and yet many times subtle and restrained expressions are the ones that help us convey and connect the most powerfully. Think of…a quiet but intense look versus hysterical yelling, perhaps. No question which one speaks more volumes, albeit not literally.

This post is part of SoCS: https://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/06/27/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-2814/

8 thoughts on “To emote or not to emote, that is the question.

Leave a comment