Freedom

Sitting here
Facing my fear
I think I hear
My freedom calling.

Birds in the sky
Oh how they fly
Though hunters
Somewhere neigh
May point to the sky
Shoot them till they die.

‘I am meant to fly!
Give the skies a try
Though I may die
At least the cage
I have defied.’

Sitting here
Doing my dream
I know my journey
Will not be all smooth sailing
Cultures, vultures
Oh pressure!
Expectations, competition
What criticism!
Limitations facing possibilities
A tiny bird
In the vast open sky
What do I do?

Sitting here
Perched on my Rock
I still my mind
And hear the Voice:
“Take the leap and
Spread your wings!”
So off I go
Into the vast unknown
Limitations, possibilities and all
Fear, excitement and hope.

Higher and higher I soar
Headlong
Into those vast unknowns
Only to find
That up close
They are not
Even half the horizon!

Sitting here
Facing those fears
I now know the answer
When again I hear
My freedom calling.

‘Meant to fly
Though I may die
At least the cage
I have defied.’

Leave a Reply

