Brickbats Do Hurt…But…

Badge by Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

Badge by Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

This is life. If I can get accustomed to the fact that brickbats will always be part of the deal, I bet my skin will grow at least a bit thicker, and I will be a bit more fearless, come what may.

But…(getting a little sleepy now)…this is always easier said than done. If brickbats do not hurt at all, then it probably means I have lost my humanity, because being human means, among other things, being vulnerable.

And that is perfectly fine, I think. Perfectly fine to care what others think, what others say, perfectly fine to feel unnerved by criticism, opposition, objections, rejection, and all things negative and disapproving. Because I do not believe anyone can not care, or feel the slightest bit affected when all these happen.

Because if we don’t…we will probably…

1. Be running around naked like  Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden (when the world was still perfect and the first man and woman knew no concept of shame)

2. Have no ‘like’ buttons on Facebook, WordPress and other social media

3. Not enjoy social media so much…because who cares, anyway?

4. Not coined the “Dutch courage” concept

So, well, speaking for myself, I care, I do get affected, I do have my vulnerabilities, I do my share of work to fit in the best I can. And again, I really think that’s ok…as long as I don’t allow the concerns of what others think stand in the way of what my heart wants to do. As long as it doesn’t harm and hurt anyone…and is not at anyone else’s expense.

Bring on the brickbats. I care, but I will forge ahead anyway.

 

This post is part of SoCS:

http://lindaghill.com/2014/11/07/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-november-814/

4 thoughts on “Brickbats Do Hurt…But…

  1. Okay, I give. What is a brickbat? Is it like a troll? That’s what I get from your post… And yes, when someone pokes at our feelings with a stick it does hurt. Dusting off and moving on can be hard, but it’s gotta be done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

