Why I Love the JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur

Completing the lovely room ambience was the music that played from the TV the moment I slotted the room key card into the main power slot.

I stayed at this hotel early September this year, and wrote an incomplete post about it. It’s time I finish writing about the marvelous experience I had lounging around in my room at this flagship hotel.

Aside from the spelling error on my name by the receptionist who helped me register for the Marriott Rewards membership, the service was impeccable. I love smiling and I got to return many smiles and greetings the moment I alighted from my taxi at 11.30 am for the early check-in I had been given. Assistance was offered proactively – almost automatically. It felt like with every step I made there were a few more made towards my direction, with hands extended so readily – whether it was to open a door, take my luggage, or press the lift button.

In perfect order.

In perfect order.

And of course, there was the room–I will let the photos do the talking. I had a formal event to attend at this hotel the next morning, so I decided to spend my day just relaxing before meeting up with my friend for dinner and cakes. The  perennial introvert, I was more than happy to just nap in the bed, laze on the sofa by the window and watch the scene outside since my room faced a popular shopping mall, The Pavilion KL.

The delicious beef tacos from one of the hotel's seven eateries - I can't remember which one.

The delicious beef tacos from one of the hotel’s seven eateries – I can’t remember which one.

I ordered room service for my lunch – beef tacos – which was sent up to me by a very polite butler and came with a glass of iced water which I did not request. A very thoughtful little gesture. My request for extra lotion and mouthwash was happily met by their housekeeping staff, who also went the extra mile, asking: “Is there anything else you need, ma’am, more mineral water, maybe?”

There were sun loungers at the shaded area too, which I interpret as yet another thoughtful arrangement by the hotel. Perfect for people who want to be outdoors without being directly under the sun.

There were sun loungers at the shaded area too, which I interpret as yet another thoughtful arrangement by the hotel. Perfect for people who want to be outdoors without being directly under the sun.

Came 6 pm, I changed into my exercise clothes to go for a workout at the gym and made a request for my room to be made up while I was away. I came back after my workout to find the room restored to perfect order, and the bathrobe hung behind the bathroom door-another thoughtful gesture. The lavender and ylang ylang scented toiletries were perfect for a relaxing post-workout shower, and since bath salts were also provided I soaked in the bathtub…and was feeling so pampered that I started contemplating extending my stay till I remembered that my flight home had already been booked.

Meeting up with my friend Eroll was also a breeze–the KL Pavilion Shopping Mall was at the hotel’s doorstep–I just had to cross the road! So he drove to the area right after he finished work and we met at the mall’s food court for dinner and cakes.

The luxurious bath. There is also a separate shower.

The luxurious bath. There is also a separate shower.

Checking out was a pleasant experience. I had water offered to me while the receptionist worked on the necessary procedure, and when that was done, I did not even have to ask for assistance for my luggage to be carried to the parking lot because a bellboy came right to my aid after I told the concierge that I did not need to call for a cab anymore since I made a lovely new friend at the event who offered to send me to the airport.

This was the first Marriott hotel I had ever stayed in–and I couldn’t find any fault with it. The location was also perfect, with KL Pavilion right at its doorstep, and the hotel being connected to the Starhill Shopping Gallery, right in the heart of Malaysia’s capital city.  So I came to associate the Marriott label with thoughtful, impeccable service, and the expectation was thus set for future stays at JW Marriott KL’s sibling hotels–and who can blame me?

2 thoughts on “Why I Love the JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur

Leave a Reply

