Why I love The Royale Chulan Damansara

20140530-212643.jpg
I thanked the friendly cab driver and was promptly welcomed by the hotel doorman who opened the car door for me. Two more doormen greeted me as I entered the The Royale Chulan Damansara (then Royale Bintang Damansara) for the first time. After returning the warmth and courtesy with smiles and ‘thank you’s’ I finally had the chance to take in my surroundings – and I was taken aback.

I had gone to the Klang Valley looking forward to attending a workshop cum brainstorming session on creating flexible work environments – and while I had expected a decent, upmarket venue I wasn’t prepared for the grandness that greeted me at the hotel.

A white and cream colour scheme with occasional strokes of navy blue worked with the lobby’s high ceiling and generous space to result in a setting that was awe inspiring and yet welcoming. The term ‘cheerful cathedral’ came to mind.

And like a royalty who was clearly in a class of their own but would still welcome you to tea anytime, the Royale Chulan Damansara lived up to its name and made anyone stepping into its understated grandeur feel…good.

So when I had to travel to the Klang Valley again this year for a dear friend’s wedding, I happily decided to stay at this beautiful hotel.

20140530-212426.jpgTired after a long day marked by a flight delay and traffic jams, walking into my white and cream colored room was a delightful relief. In the warm yellow lighting, the neutral tones and plush carpet made the entire space so warm and inviting that despite the size of the room it felt like a cocoon. I felt pampered!

20140530-212904.jpgFrom the luxurious bathroom and plush bed and pillows, to the armchair with foot rest by the window and extra touches like the fruit platter in the room, The Royale Chulan Damansara was everything one would expect of a 5-star establishment.

20140530-212614.jpgBreakfast was also a delight – standard hotel buffet fare, but generous in terms of spread and quality. The cafe was bright and airy and I had coffee served to me just because the manager noticed I was looking for it. Royal indeed!

This was definitely one of the best hotel stays I have experienced – because all that was described above was the perfect setting in which the truly meaningful took place. Having the luxurious cocoon to return to after attending Celine’s wedding, during which I had a chance to catch up with Phay Phay and see her children, and then meeting up with Monica for coffee and coming back to the hotel room with her to chat somemore! And on my last day, Sarah dropped by to join me for the buffet breakfast and our usual long chat, then we both went up to my room to nap before I checked out.

It was the simple pleasure of spending time with the important people in my life, and having the luxury to enjoy their company in elegant surroundings makes the experience even more memorable. Perhaps the next time we could plan a backpacking trip together to some remote places in the world for a different kind of bonding experience!

Leave a Reply

