My Running Journal: My First 5K…Woo Hoo!

3_TCSNYCM_Instagram_Team-for-Kids-Member-Fundraising_2_for WP Widget6th of December 2014, Saturday

This is a belated entry as this run practice took place yesterday evening. The best thing about running is the satisfaction and confidence that come from discovering the limits in ourselves that we can surpass…with every step made, every deep breath taken, the sense of possibility just grows – that maybe, maybe nothing is really impossible. Almost.

Yesterday there was a light drizzle when I reached the park where I had decided to practice. But the other runners and walkers carried on, so I decided to brave it after hesitating for 10 minutes. I am glad I did because the drizzle stopped after a while, and I ended up surpassing my target to run 5 kilometers. So woots, that was my first 5K. It was quite an interesting run because of the landscape at the park. I could choose to run on level ground, or do rounds near the field at the lower part of the park where I had to run slightly uphill at some points. Observing the humanity present also made the run a lot more interesting. There were families running together, a father-and-son pair taking a relaxing stroll while chatting with each other, a group of senior citizens practising their Tai chi to traditional Chinese music, and a good number of serious runners with their earphones on.

Running outdoors certainly beats the staleness of the gym! And the verdict: 5.48 km in 39 minutes. Yay!

——

This is an entry into the running journal I have created to chronicle my experiences as I train and prepare to run the TCS New York City Marathon 2015 and fund raise for Team for Kids, an international running group that is committed to supporting health and fitness programs for underprivileged children in the US and Africa. Read my introduction entry where I share how this journey started, and if you would like to donate to the cause, simply go to my secure fundraising page here!

5 thoughts on “My Running Journal: My First 5K…Woo Hoo!

  1. Welcome to the running world! You are doing great things for yourself, do keep it up. So happy for you Alexis. I didn’t start off well myself. I hated running (can’t believe it right?). Bad turnings in my life was a blessing in disguise. It made me started thinking better… have a plan/checklist to focus on….to treat myself better and stay fitter (yup, I blogged some of my journey). So I started jogging since mid of 2011. After a few months, I was the first… from behind (7km only in an hour). Today, my best achievement was 10km in 58 mins. Nah, not good enough to win trophies or medals (those weren’t my goals though. My real goal is just to have fun, keep fit and healthy), but the motivation sharing here is, don’t give up, and just enjoy the run to the finishing line. Eventually, when you enjoy what you are doing, you will get so much better at it. It is truly satisfying. Enjoy this journey Alexis and all the best to you!

    Like

    • Thanks for dropping by Lay Nee! Yes, I am so glad to discover the joys of running, though it certainly comes with challenges. But the challenges are what make it exciting 😀 10 km in 58 minutes sounds great!

      Like

Leave a Reply

