The Wonder of Water: A True Story

Badge by Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

Badge by Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

Here’s a simple story of how water changed a young woman’s life:

“I used to suffer from a bad case of pimples and acne. I had such a pizza face that it affected my self-confidence, to the extent that when I talked to people I would not look at them in the eye. And imagine I was a bank teller!

I went from doctor to doctor and tried all sorts of creams and medication. But nothing worked. One day I went to see a new dermatologist, and he told me to forget about everything else, and just drink a lot of water! So I started guzzling water, a few liters a day, and I would just drink and drink. True enough, my skin started clearing up as the water flushed out all the toxins in my body that were causing the breakouts.

My life started to change as I started gaining confidence in myself. I love wearing make up and I tried different jobs, gaining more experience to grow my career. And I have no qualms talking to people and making eye contact with them. All it took was just to listen to that doctor and drink lots of water.”

This was narrated to me by a colleague I had during one of my earliest jobs. As I look back, I realized one takeaway from her story is that…sometimes the very solution to a persistent problem that has been bugging us for no end can just turn out to be the simplest one!

This post is part of SoCS:

http://lindaghill.com/2014/11/14/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-november-1514/

18 thoughts on “The Wonder of Water: A True Story

  1. I’ve found that drinking a lot of water helps lower your blood pressure, too. The extra work it gives your kidneys is good for you. Plus, as you say, it flushes a lot of waste out of you. I gave up soda and just drink water and coffee now, and it’s made a huge difference. That aspartame is terrible stuff.

    Like

    • Wow that’s great! Yes I gave up sugary drinks many years ago too and now take my coffee without sugar or artificial sweetener, and it helps me stay alert, no more post-lunch slump. Thanks for your educational comment πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Wow, that’s a cool story! I think most people don’t drink enough water. I know I’m guilty! I feel better when I drink more water, but yet, I still neglect it. I think I’ll go get a glass now πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

