Being Christian: What It Means to Me

Inspired by my pastor’s preaching on praising God this morning, I searched Youtube for Christian praise songs and found this beautiful number by Singapore’s New Creation Church.

Unto You, be all glory and all praise–indeed!

This song got me sentimental and thinking of what a wonderful God and Saviour I have chosen to follow. And an amazing journey I have had since the day I began to follow Him–the God who loves me despite my imperfections, mistakes, and rough edges.

And that really should not be a surprise at all because there is no command in the Bible for the followers of Christ to be all saintly and perfect. If we could achieve that there would be no need for Jesus in the first place.

I guess Christianity becomes controversial and offensive–when Christians forget their own humanity and need for Christ, and go around trumpeting opinions and dishing out do’s and don’ts in His name. Maybe it’s easy to blur the lines between becoming like Christ, and wrongly thinking that we are already like Him and therefore have the right to impose our views on others.

Being a Christian, to me, is simple. It simply means I have a source of guidance to turn to in times of troubles and doubt. I have a Higher Authority to whom I look for hope when things happen that defy explanations, and when prognosis for the future looks bleak. I have a point of reference when I am not sure what is right or wrong. It means I have knowledge that shapes  my beliefs, principles, and ideals. The rest — like the fun worshipping in church, the peace and joy and boundless optimism —  are the happy by products of my walk with Christ.

So this is how it works for me–my relationship with my Saviour, and learning to become a better person. It may work differently for others, and the good news for me is, I know enough about the Bible to be absolutely sure that I am only called to follow Christ, not to be on His law enforcement team–if there is even one in the first place. Ha!

 

2 thoughts on “Being Christian: What It Means to Me

  1. “The God who loves me despite my imperfections, mistakes, and rough edges.” Amen to that! As a gay Christian who has met his share of judgment, and as a man who makes a habit out of mistakes, I couldn’t agree more. The miracle is that we are saved; that God loves us enough to look past our short comings when we approach Him with an open heart and seek forgiveness. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

