Through the Eyes of a Loving Grandfather

Head of dark, thick hair
Curly lashes flutter like butterfly wings
Round eyes twinkling like stars
She’s just learning to speak
And making demands of me!

“Grandpa, make sure you love me lots
And most of all.”

What a mammoth expectation
But it feels as light as
Her tiny weight
As she bounces on my lap.

I nod agreeably, conspiratorially
And say yes, indeed
I would love her
More than the rest.

My daughter’s daughter
My second chance to love
To care.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/reverse-shot/

One thought on “Through the Eyes of a Loving Grandfather

  1. Pingback: Jottings and Writings

Leave a Reply

