How Do You Eat An Elephant?

20140920-170618.jpg

Badge by Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

I have too many elephants staring down at me–work elephants, personal elephants. Oh gosh how do I eat them all? One bite at a time, so say the wise ones. Take this one rather complex elephant–a big project I am starting at work. It’s going to involve many different parties–many whose expertise the entire thing cannot do without. So Elephant Project, how do I eat you?

First, I need to get clear on what I want to achieve. Second, I write down all these goals. Third, I need to flesh out the work details–what exactly needs to get done, by when, in order for the goals to become a reality? Like if I want to build a showhouse from scratch with the goal of charging people to come and view it, what are the nitty gritty?

Uhhmm (yes this really requires a lot of hard thinking!), I would probably need to finalize the concept of the house, and then engage a reputable and reasonably priced, and reliable builder; and then there’s the interior decor, sourcing of materials, so on and so forth.

Fourth, armed with a clear list of work to be done, I need to set out to recruit the right people to work with me. People whose expertise, talents, and interests match the things I have on my list. Oh dear, even the recruitment process itself alone can be broken down to at least 10 steps, I reckon.

Fifth, I need to keep my eye on the ball — on all the deliverables that are being worked on by these various parties. And make sure I regularly touch base with my team members to get updates, find out what challenges are being faced, and play the part of the motivating presence (I hope)…and hopefully everything pans out well and the elephant gets eaten, digested, leaving everyone happy and satisfied in the end.

This post is part of SoCS:
http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/09/26/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-september-2714/

6 thoughts on “How Do You Eat An Elephant?

Leave a Reply

