For the Love of Laughter

The ability to be funny and make others laugh is truly a gift. Laughter breaks the ice, and helps people to warm up to one another. It is even said to be the best medicine.

I love a good laugh anytime and sometimes fancy myself a funny person – as in I do make people laugh sometimes with some brilliant one liners or comments (do humour me a little). Sadly though I am not good at writing funny stories. Perhaps that depends on my mood too. I would love to be able to weave humour into my writings the way Sophie Kinsella does. I remember bursting out in laughter every so often when reading Confessions of a Shopaholic. The other two books I read that made me laugh a lot were Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential, and Tony Hsieh’s Delivering Happiness.

I enjoy bantering with my co-workers too, and even teasing my parents for a laugh (with due respect, of course). Among the best stand-up comedians I’ve watched are Joe Wong (“I grew up in China. Who wouldn’t?”) and Russell Peters. When I was younger and still into the television I used to enjoy the sitcom Friends.

I find that jokes come to me spontaneously, and perhaps I would one day actually write something that can make people laugh. But for now I am contented being the consumer of other people’s humour, and not the creator of humour. Ha ha.

This post is part of SoCS:
http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/09/12/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-september-1314/

20140913-211655.jpgThis badge is designed by Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

7 thoughts on “For the Love of Laughter

  1. Appreciating humor is just as valuable as creating it — loved this point and your post. By the way, glad you mentioned Joe Wong; I like stand-up comedy but never heard of him so I’m interested in looking him up, especially since I suspect we may have similar tastes since I also have enjoyed Russell Peters’ comedy. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Comedy is harder to write than people think. For me it comes spontaneously in the writing as well as in social situations. If I sit down to TRY to write something funny though, it never happens.
    Thanks for this, Alexis!

    Like

Leave a Reply

