My First Haiku Attempt

break of dawn
I stifle a yawn
drag my suitcase beyond

 

—–

Until I read this, I thought writing a haiku in English meant I had to adhere to the 5-7-5 syllable rule. But turned out what makes a haiku a haiku is not exactly that structure, although it has to be in three lines.

Some of the intriguing things I have learnt about haiku today:

1. A haiku has no title!

2. The plural for haiku is haiku

3. It is a kind of compact poem that shows – and not tell – the reader the insight it contains into nature or human nature – and herein lies the challenge for the wannabe Haiku poet…

So based on what I read in this very useful article about haiku, the strategy includes, for example, using the word ‘snow’ to convey winter and ‘frogs’ to convey spring. I do want want to be evocative in my writings (which is going to be a challenge considering I need to balance the requirement of my day job to be direct and concise in my writing because my colleagues and bosses won’t have the time to indulge in the literary pleasure of trying to figure out what I am trying to say!) so looks like writing haiku is a good place to develop that.

And in my quest to learn how to use few words to paint a picture, I have found this article to be very useful: http://www.graceguts.com/essays/becoming-a-haiku-poet. Meanwhile, comments welcome from haiku lovers (brickbats, bouquets, and 2 cents’es) 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

