Like

Like
It or not
Life
It goes on
Whether you like
Your nose
Your neighbour
Or your
General lot in it.

You may not like me
And I, you
But what does it matter, anyway
End of the day
We are all on this
One mortal journey.

Like attracts like
So they say
So beware what you are like
If you want
All that you like.

What am I like?
This question
I ask myself
Whatever is the answer
Here comes another one:
Whatever I am like
Is it true
To myself, or
Is it just
The result
Of wanting to be liked?

So in all likeness
In all uniqueness
Like it or not
Is the thread that binds us
All together.

The same fear
The same need
Of wanting to be liked.

This post is part of SoCS: http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/06/20/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-2114/

11 thoughts on “Like

  1. A wonderful poem, and so true. I particularly “liked”
    Whatever I am like
    Is it true
    To myself, or
    Is it just
    The result
    Of wanting to be liked?

    It seems so common these days for people to act contrary to their true nature in order to be popular. It’s a sad thing that this is a question we should all ask ourselves on occasion.
    Thanks very much for participating in SoCS! 😀

    Like

    • Thanks Linda! Glad you like it. Amazing how a single-word prompt jump started a mini journey inward to reflect how far and if I have veered from my truth. Worthwhile exercise indeed, and thanks for creating such an encouraging platform. Sure got me the views, and yes, it’s nice to be ‘liked’ 😉

      Like

  2. Pingback: Thanks for the Great Turnout! | lindaghill

Leave a Reply

